Main Campus Address:
449 Thames Street
Newport, RI 02840
The Brooks Building at IYRS:
10 Spring Wharf
Newport, RI 02840
An 18,000-square-foot waterfront building that serves as the school’s main teaching facility. It has been completely refitted as an open-space shop where students work on coursework and projects. An elevated catwalk allows faculty, family, and visitors to observe work in progress.
The Brooks Building at IYRS
The Brooks Building, named in honor of IYRS trustee Matt Brooks’ father, Jack Brooks, is the home for modern making at IYRS. The 20,000 square foot facility opened in 2017 and is home to the Composites Technology, Marine Systems, and Digital Modeling & Fabrication programs. The Brooks Building features fabrication equipment and technologies needed for creation, multiple BUILD spaces, classrooms, offices, stunning views of Newport Harbor and historic Thames Street in Newport, RI.
Aquidneck Mill Building
Built in 1831 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Aquidneck Building has been refurbished to house IYRS administrative offices, a research library, and several corporate offices for marine companies.
Located on the Newport campus and open to the public, the IYRS student library is a handsomely restored part of the 1831 Aquidneck Mill, which is on the National Register of Historic Places. The student library has extraordinary views of Newport Harbor and its entrance from Narragansett Bay. Students utilize the library for research, projects, documentation, leisure reading, and use of the hi-speed Mac computers.
With an extensive collection of yacht design, build and other related materials, the library contains more than 4,000 titles, rare books, and source materials and directories. There are also many artifacts, dating as far back as the late 19th century.
Coronet Restoration Project
Adjacent to Restoration Hall is the Coronet Building, which is the site of the reconstruction of the 1885 schooner of the same name, and serves as a professional arena for major projects. The project is managed by Coronet Restoration Partners.