IYRS Leadership Biographies

Terry Nathan, President

In 2004, Terry Nathan joined IYRS as President. He is the architect and chief executive of the school’s development and long-term strategy to become an experiential learning school – building on IYRS’ strong roots in the marine trades industry. Starting with the creation of a senior management team and the development of the school’s Board of Trustees, under Nathan’s leadership, the school has grown substantially into a sustainable enterprise.

Prior to joining IYRS, Mr. Nathan spent over 20 years in the software industry, mostly in three start-ups as a partner and operating executive. He is co-founder of The Media Services Group, a major supplier of ERP systems to publishers. He has consulted for international publishers, including Forbes, Transcontinental Media, Collaboratek an HP spinoff, and other content groups. Following college, Nathan spent 3 ½ years on Madison Avenue. He holds a BA degree in humanities and a masters degree in literature and writing. He has served on several education and marine trades Boards.

Rebeka Mazzone, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Operating Officer

Rebeka Mazzone is the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and is involved in operational management of the school. She has more than 18 years of experience providing financial accounting and consulting services to for-profit and not-for-profit businesses. Prior to joining IYRS, she was the Director Compliance, Internal Audit & Risk Management for Johnson & Wales University (JWU) where she was responsible for designing and implementing an enterprise risk management strategy for JWU’s 4 campuses. Prior to joining JWU, she served as the Director of the Rhode Island Region of Accounting Management Solutions Providence, RI office, where she dedicated to serving the higher education and not-for-profit industry. She started her career in KPMG’s higher education, research and other not-for-profit practice where her clients included Cornell University, Howard University and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

She is a national instructor for the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and has developed and presented at many conferences and, given her industry specialty, frequently serves in an instructional capacity, lecturing and training, and supporting the various volunteer organizations in which she’s personally involved.

Mrs. Mazzone is a member and former board member of the Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants (RISCPA) and a member of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) Not-For-Profit Resource Group.

IYRS Board of Trustees

Charles H. Townsend, Chairman
Ronald P. O’Hanley, Vice-Chairman
Matt Brooks, Vice-Chairman
Darrell Crate, Treasurer
Michael J. Dominguez, Secretary
Terry Nathan, President

Connell Christopher Cannon, Chair of the Development Committee
Malcolm D. Clarke, Jr., Chair of the Nominating & Governance Committee
Christopher J. Culver
Peter Denton
Joseph T. Dockery, former Chairman
Alex Egan
Juergen Friedrich
Glenn F. Fuller
Stephen L. Glascock
Lawrence Glenn, Chair of the Program Advisory Committee
Deborah L. Hadley
Seth Hagen, Class of 2002
James A. Hilton, , Chair of the Regatta Committee
George M. Isdale, Jr., former Chairman
Ralph Isham
William Kahane
John L. Klinck, Jr.
Terry L. Lanza
Douglas L. Newhouse
Carol L. O’Malley
Harry T. Rein
Isabella Dana Ridall
Tim Rutter
Mark E. Watson
J. Steven White

Trustee Emeritus

David Elwell Emeritus
Peter Gonzalez Emeritus
Gary Jobson, Emeritus
Edward W. Kane, Emeritus
Earl McMillen III, Emeritus
John Mecray, Emeritus*

*Indicates deceased