School of Composites Technology Faculty

Bob Lacovara
Composites Technology Instructor


Mr. Bob Lacovara is an accomplished pioneer in the composites manufacturing industry, having served for twenty years in various leadership roles for the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA), the leading trade organization for the composites manufacturing industry. Mr. Lacovara is also the founder of Convergent Composites, as well as co-writer of the curriculum and lead instructor for IYRS School of Composites Technology in Bristol, Rhode Island.

Mr. Lacovara has helped shape the composites industry, having originated and developed the Certified Composites Technician (CCT) professional development program that has certified over 3,000 professionals, as well as consulting for a large number of composites manufacturing facilities worldwide. He continues to serve on the CCT workgroup which continues to evolve the standards. Mr. Lacovara was inducted into the Composites Hall of Fame in 2010 for providing “a lasting impact that is forever felt by industry professionals.”

Mr. Lacovara has served on the ACMA Board of Directors and was the recipient of the ACMA President’s Award for Outstanding Industry Service. He has also served as editor of the Composites Research Journal, Operations Manager for a major marine manufacturer, and General Manager of a corporation producing transportation & aircraft components.

Mr. Lacovara is a graduate of Rowan University.

Composites-Faculty-John-AubrechtJohn Aubrecht (IYRS Alumnus)
Composites Technology Teaching Assistant

John Aubrecht brings a wealth of knowledge to IYRS’ Composites Technology classrooms, having graduated from the program himself. Throughout his time as a student, John demonstrated advanced knowledge and abilities, which he now shares with current students. John supports the day-to-day teaching of composite manufacturing fundamentals, processes and techniques, followed by supporting students as they develop and complete the build of their own independent project.

Contact Administrative Staff


Main IYRS Phone Number: 401-848-5777
[email protected]

Terry Nathan
Ext. 211

Rebeka Mazzone
Chief Operations Officer
Ext. 208

Holly Ashton
Director of Experiential Education & Career Services
Ext. 216

Natasha Bryant
Operations Associate
Ext. 207

John Cayer
Facilities & Marina Manager
Ext. 212

Liz Enos
Student Services Manager
Ext. 205

Jenny Holmqvist
Events Manager
Ext. 231

Bob Lacovara
Director of Education
Ext. 224

Nora Meah
Director of Admissions
Ext. 220

Monika Miller
Ext. 217

Lindsay Mitchell
Advancement & Impact Manager
Ext. 209

Natalie O’Sullivan
Admissions Counselor
Ext. 210

Alison Pratt
Staff Accountant
Ext. 206

Josh Singer
Marketing Manager
Ext. 202

Norma Taylor
Admissions Associate
Ext. 203